top of page

Beginner's Guide to Cameras


Gear does not make a fantastic image (but it doesn't hurt), the photographer does. To be honest, I don't think

Barrier to entry for photography is low. I feel like everyone and their dog has a DSLR these days. And I think that's great! Photography is a lot of fun and I'm glad people have the opportunity to enjoy it. It creates an oversaturated market for photographers, but I believe in community over competition and hope anyone who wants to find success in this medium is able to.

This is what I used to first figure out photography and even though this set up has now completely been replaced, I stand by this stuff as freaking awesome.

Lots of people these days own a Canon Rebel, the camera I started out on. When I first got it, it blew my freaking socks off!

"Wow it's a touch screen! I'm basically a professional now *smirk"

-Junior Year Caili

Except I had absolutely no idea how to use it. The first "photoshoot" I did was hitting up my high school friends and using it as a point and shoot. I didn't know what any of the buttons meant, so I didn't touch any of them. It was pretty much a more expensive iPhone.

Canon is all the way up to Canon Rebel t6i currently and so I looked up the differences for y'all. After reading through the comparisons, I guarantee you're not missing out on anything by buying an older version rebel. You don't need 19 focus points and the older rebel versions are still high enough resolution to print posters. If you're not making billboards, save yourself a few hundred dollars.


This lens is a no-brainer first lens for a new photographer. It's only $125 and the low aperture (1.8) allows beautiful bokeh (background blur) and lots of light to come in *heart eyes. The 50mm is a workhorse, you can do so so much with it.

Paired with the Canon Rebel (that I figured out how to use lol), I was able to develop my consistent style as an artist. I couldn't recommend this set-up more to someone just starting out with photography.



A Cute Camera Strap

Life is too short to sport the boring black strap that comes with the camera. Personalized camera straps are really cheap and a fun way to add more personality and interest to your set up! There is 0 reason not to have one.

My boyfriend actually asked me to prom in a way that involved gifting me my camera strap. He's pretty cute.



contact caili

Photography is a lot of things, but it primarily is an investment. This is a choice that endures. This is your story. Have peace of mind that your memories will be captured perfectly

navigate

Caili Chung Photography

instagram

@cailichung

Email: 

Bay Area & Salt Lake  City

bottom of page