top of page

Styling Your Engagement Photos



You want your photos to be absolutely stunning, and so do I. After all, your photography decisions are choices that will last.

I was constantly asked by my clients what to wear for their photos, and I was super pumped to be asked this question because I had a to say about it haha. I wrote it all out in a 30 page PDF that I give to all my clients, but here are a few big tips:

1. Wear pastel and neutral colors.

Why?

1. Pastels will bring more light into your photos. As a result, they will help you shine more

2. The color you wear reflects on your skin so super bright and fluorescent colors will give you an slightly unnatural skin tone. In contrast, pastels and neutrals will make your skin appear more even and clear. Blush and baby blue in particular reflect light to bring a healthy glow to your skin

3. Pastel and neutral colors are timeless, so your photos will never seem trendy.

2. Plan Two Outfits

Every photographer is different, but I give my couples the option to give their shoot two different looks. My clients usually like to have one casual, everyday look and then one outfit that is dressier. This allows us to capture different parts of your personalities.


3. Bring Flowers

Want your images to look more editorial? Bring a little extra something with you! A freshly-picked bouquet for you to hold, or fresh flowers to put on something else, like a bicycle basket, tree swing, picnic basket, car bumper or rowboat, is a fun way bring a little extra romance to everyday objects.


I hope those tips will be helpful in moving forward toward your big day! Many people (grooms especially!) dread having their picture taken, but I believe that photography can and therefore should be fun! I want to make it just that. I guide my couples through the entire process—from scheduling for the flattering lighting to providing nonstop posing instructions so no one ever looks or feels awkward.

TABLE OF CONTENTS FOR MY FULL ENGAGEMENT SESSION STYLE GUIDE:

What every bride needs to know

How to choose a date & time

Selecting the right location

Styling your Session

Style Tips: For her

What to Wear

Choosing Colors

Coordinating Outfits

Flattering your features

Accessorizing

Hair & Makeup

The Final Touch

Fashion Tips: For Him

It's all in the Details

After the Session

One final Note

Engagement Session Checklist


contact caili

Photography is a lot of things, but it primarily is an investment. This is a choice that endures. This is your story. Have peace of mind that your memories will be captured perfectly

navigate

Caili Chung Photography

instagram

@cailichung

Email: 

Bay Area & Salt Lake  City

bottom of page