top of page

To Photographers: Value Your Life



So many photographers are hungry for clients. I'm so excited every single time I check my inbox and find an inquiry from a potential Caili Chung bride. From that very first inquiry, I'm so looking forward to learning more. I am so honored that they took the time to message me and am so flattered that they are interested in working with me.

Photography has the potential to be so fulfilling. Through your camera, you could go on fun adventures with incredible people. Every shoot I get to experience how much friends, family, and husband/wife love each other. It's good for your soul to see good things like that, and it reminds me of how valuable those connections are in my own life.

But I wouldn't love photography if I was serving people I didn't like and who didn't like me back. I would hate to leave someone feeling unhappy. And I have no interest in dreading responding to a specific person but feeling obligated to. I have no interest in worrying about a bad review. I have no interest in spending time in negative environments.

So excited as I whenever a new inquiry hits my inbox, I am not willing to accept just anyone into my life. Life is way too short to spend time with people who don't make you love life more. This is true in a photography business, but it's also just how I want to live overall.

Think of choosing clients and being chosen by clients like a first date. Ideally, both people will mutually impress/appeal to the other. You don't want a significant other who treats you poorly. And you don't want a photography client who treats you poorly either. If it's not a good fit, don't feel trapped in a bad situation.

Get to know all inquiring couples before they book. My first point of contact is getting on the phone and talking to potential clients. During this conversation, I want to learn more about the couple's love story and what they're looking for. Through this conversation the couple is figuring out if they want to work with me AND I am figuring out if I want to work with them. The good feelings should be mutual if the relationship will continue.

Pro tip: Also If you don't know what to say on the phone, Ben Hartley of Six Figure Photography has a killer phone script you can access here

If an inquiring bride isn't a good fit for you, your artistic style, your personal values, or anything else, let them know that another photographer could probably fulfill what they're looking for better. No one is entitled to your service, your time, and your life.


contact caili

Photography is a lot of things, but it primarily is an investment. This is a choice that endures. This is your story. Have peace of mind that your memories will be captured perfectly

navigate

Caili Chung Photography

instagram

@cailichung

Email: 

Bay Area & Salt Lake  City

bottom of page